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Who needs a Cigarette License?

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation in
any manner, or upon any pretense, or by any device,
directly or indirectly, to sell, exchange, barter, dispose of or
give away, any cigarettes or tobacco products without a
license.

Definitions

CIGARETTES

Any roll of tobacco in paper or any substance other than
tobacco. Tobacco products: cigars; cheroots; stories;
perique; granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready-rubbed and
other smoking tobacco; snuff; snuff flour; cavendish; plug
and twist tobacco; fine-cut and other chewing tobaccos;
shorts; refuse scraps; clipping; cuttings and sweepings of
tobacco and other kinds and forms of tobacco prepared in
such a manner as to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a
pipe or otherwise, or both for chewing or smoking.

License Period

Annual; expires one year from the date of issuance.

Fee
$100

Forms Needed

e ccl-bapp — Business Application

e ccl-cigl —Cigarette & Tobacco Business Supplemental
Application

Copy of Seller’s Permit Required

A copy of your current Wisconsin Seller’s Permit must be
submitted with the application. The Seller’s Permit must be
issued in the same name as the legal entity applying for the
license. Applications submitted without the Seller’s Permit
are incomplete and will be returned. Providing only the
Seller’s Permit number does not meet this requirement.

Fingerprints
Not required

Federal Employer ID Number

A Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) must also
be provided. This is obtained from the Internal Revenue
Service, U.S. Department of Treasury, 1-800-829-4933,
www.irs.gov/businesses/. Your Social Security Number
cannot be used as your FEIN. Individual applicants or
Limited Liability Company applicants with only one member
are not required to provide an FEIN.

Underage Sign Required

The owner or operator of a premises licensed to sell
cigarettes or tobacco products shall post a sign in the
immediate area where those products are sold, stating that
the sale of any cigarettes or tobacco products to a person
under the age of 18 is unlawful under s.106-23-3-a, MCO
and ss.134.66 and 254.92, Wis. Stats.

Records to be Kept

Every licensed retailer shall keep complete and accurate
records of all purchases and receipts of cigarettes and
tobacco products. The records shall be preserved on the
licensed premises for 2 years in a manner to ensure
permanency and accessibility for inspection and shall be
subject to inspection at all reasonable hours by authorized
state and local law enforcement officials.

Ban on Flavored Cigarettes Enacted

It is illegal to sell fruit-, candy-, or clove-flavored cigarettes.
On September 22, 2009, the U.S. Food & Drug
Administration announced a ban on cigarettes with flavors
characterizing fruit, candy or clove.

Vending Machines Are Now lllegal

It is illegal to sell cigarettes through vending machines
according to a new Federal Drug Administration rule
which went into effect June 22, 2010.

Tobacco Products Distributor Permit

A state-issued Tobacco Products Distributor Permit is
required if you are purchasing non-Wisconsin taxed
tobacco products from outside Wisconsin.

The CTP-129: Application For Cigarette And Tobacco
Products Permits/Registration form can be found at
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/forms/excise/ctp-129.pdf

Secondhand Dealer License

If you purchase, sell or exchange any secondhand articles of
personal property (including used cell phones), you will also
need to apply for a Secondhand Dealer License.
“Secondhand” means previously owned by a member of the
general public immediately prior to your transaction. This
application is also acquired from the License Division.

City of Milwaukee Ordinance

Regulations
e MCO 84-43
e MCO 106-30
e Available online at
www.milwaukee.gov/ordinances
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Supplemental Application for Cigarette and Tobacco Products License g1 73013

Applicant’s Wisconsin 15-digit Sales Tax Account Number

+—
This must be issued in the same legal name of the licensee below.
Legal Name (corporation, llc, partnership or sole proprietor) Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN)
Trade or Business Name Business Telephone Number
Premises Address Business Located in
City of Milwaukee; Milwaukee County

Mailing Address

1. Type of Legal Entity (check one)
[] sole Proprietor [_] Partnership [_]Corporation/LLC, enter date incorporated:
[] out of State Corporation/LLC — Are you registered to do business in Wisconsin? [_] Yes [_] No

2. Listin the space provided below the exact location in the building where cigarettes and tobacco products will be sold.
Note: Itisillegal to sell cigarettes through vending machines according to a Federal Drug Administration rule which went into
effect June 22, 2010.

3. Do you understand that it is illegal to sell fruit-, candy-, or clove-flavored cigarettes? [] yes [INo
4. Identify the type of business offering cigarettes and tobacco products for sale. Check (\/) one, and describe (if “Other”):
[] Retail Food Store [ ] Filling Station/Convenience Store [_] Other:
5. Does the applicant understand that they must purchase cigarettes only from manufacturers, distributors or jobbers who hold a permit
with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue? [] yes [INo
6. Does the applicant understand that they must obtain a Tobacco Products Distributor permit if purchasing untaxed tobacco products

from an out-of-state company? (Tobacco Products Distributor permit is available from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at 608-
261-6435.) [] Yes [INo
7. Does the applicant understand that they cannot purchase/exchange cigarettes or tobacco products from another retailer, including

transferring existing stock to a new owner? ] Yes []No
8. Does the applicant understand that they must provide employees with tobacco sales training approved by the Wisconsin Department of
Health and Family Services? (SmokeCheck.org) [] Yes [INo
9. Does the applicant understand that they may not sell, give or otherwise provide cigarettes/tobacco products to minors?
[] Yes [INo
10. Does the applicant understand that they may not sell single cigarettes? [] Yes [INo

11. Does the applicant understand that cigarette and tobacco products invoices must be kept on the licensed premises for two years from
the date of the invoice and be available for inspection by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue/law enforcement and that failure to
comply can result in criminal penalties, including loss of cigarettes/tobacco products? [] Yes [INo

12. Does the applicant understand that only cigarettes and roll-your-own (RYO) tobacco products listed on the Wisconsin Department of
Justice’s website labeled “Directory of Certified Tobacco Manufacturers and Brands” at www.doj.state.wi.us/dls/tobacco/index.html
may be sold in Wisconsin? [] Yes [INo

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING: Under penalty provided by law, the applicant states that each of the above questions has been truthfully
answered to the best of the knowledge of the applicant. Applicant agrees to operate this business according to law and that the rights and
responsibilities conferred by the license(s), if granted, cannot be assigned to another. Any lack of access to any portion of a licensed premises during
inspection will be deemed a refusal to permit inspection. Such refusal is a misdemeanor and grounds for revocation of this license.

Signature of Sole Proprietor/Partner/Agent or 20% or More Owner:

Date: Print Name:

SUBMIT THIS FORM ALONG WITH THE “BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION”






